ST. MARY'S CHURCH, COGGES

MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL PAROCHIAL CHURCH MEETING held in the Church on Thursday 25th February 2016

The vicar, Rev Simon Kirby, welcomed everyone to the meeting and opened the meeting with a bible reading (from Acts 2) and with prayer. He then handed over to the PCC lay chairman, Mr Harvey Leach.

THE MEETING OF PARISHIONERS

The Meeting of Parishioners had been called under the provisions of the *Churchwardens Measure 2001*, and the only item of business was the election of two Churchwardens for the following twelve months.

Richard Osman was not standing for re-election. Nominations as Churchwarden were received for Gerry Wait and James Webster, and Mr Leach declared that Mr Wait and Mr Webster had been duly elected.

THE ANNUAL PAROCHIAL CHURCH MEETING

The Annual Parochial Church Meeting then resumed.

1. Minutes

Minutes of the 2015 APCM had been posted beforehand and were accepted and signed.

2. Presentation of the Electoral Roll

A report on the revision of the Electoral Roll had been posted beforehand. The number of people on the roll had increased from 214 to 244, of whom 123 were resident in the parish. 32 people had joined and 2 names had been removed from the list.

3. Annual report and financial statements

The independently examined annual report and financial statements of the Parochial Church Council for the year ended 31st December 2015 had been posted beforehand. The PCC treasurer, Keith Harwood, spoke about the financial statements.

The script and presentation slides for his talk may be found on the web at

http://coggesparish.com/apcm/2016/

Mr Leach thanked Mr Harwood for his presentation.

4. Reports

The Churchwardens' report on the fabric, ornaments and goods of St Mary's Church, Cogges had been posted beforehand. Mr Osman said that the last five years had been a roller-coaster and that the growth of the church during the interregnum had been a testament to the faith of the church; he thanked Mr and Mrs Kirby for their leadership. Mr Webster said that it was a privilege to serve as warden and thanked Mr McCulloch for his support as Operations Director. New sidesmen (Jonathan Fisher, Stuart Palmer and Gerry Wait) had been appointed.

A report on the proceedings of the Deanery Synod had been posted beforehand and Mr Leach thanked Mrs Eaton, Mr Kingston and Miss Knowles for representing the church on Synod.

5. Elections

(a) Elected members of the Deanery Synod

There was a vacancy for a fourth synod representative, but no nominations.

(b) Elected members of the Parochial Church Council

There were eight places available on the PCC (including three casual vacancies). Nominations for election as members of the Parochial Church Council were received for Ruth Carr, Malcolm Harper, Keith Harwood, Craig Hobbs, David Smith and Martin Thomas, and they were declared elected to serve as PCC members for up to three years.

MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL PAROCHIAL CHURCH MEETING 2016

(c) Appointment of Independent Examiner

It was agreed to appoint A J Carter & Co as independent examiner for another year.

6. Questions or comments

There were no questions or comments.

7. Commissioning of the new PCC

Mr Kirby prayed for the members of the new PCC, commissioning them for the year ahead.

8. Other matters

After a time of worship, there were a number of presentations:

Heidi Mäki-Patola: Youth workKirsty Morgan: Children's work

• Andy McCulloch: Operations

Heather McCulloch: Welcome and hospitality

• Simon Kirby: Vicar's report

The presentations and Vicar's report may be found on the web at

http://coggesparish.com/apcm/2016/

The evening concluded with "drinks and nibbles".