### ST. MARY'S CHURCH, COGGES

# MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL PAROCHIAL CHURCH MEETING held in the Church on Thursday 23<sup>rd</sup> February 2017

The vicar, Rev Simon Kirby, welcomed everyone to the meeting and opened the meeting with a bible reading (from Psalm 25) and with prayer. He then handed over to the PCC lay chairman, Mr Harvey Leach.

#### THE MEETING OF PARISHIONERS

The Meeting of Parishioners had been called under the provisions of the *Churchwardens Measure 2001*, and the only item of business was the election of two Churchwardens for the following twelve months.

Nominations as Churchwarden were received for Gerry Wait and James Webster, and Mr Leach declared that Mr Wait and Mr Webster had been duly elected.

#### THE ANNUAL PAROCHIAL CHURCH MEETING

The Annual Parochial Church Meeting then resumed.

#### 1. Minutes

Minutes of the 2016 APCM had been posted beforehand and were accepted and signed.

#### 2. Presentation of the Electoral Roll

A report on the revision of the Electoral Roll had been posted beforehand. The number of people on the roll had increased from 244 to 249, of whom 124 were resident in the parish. 9 people had joined and 5 names had been removed from the list.

## 3. Annual report and financial statements

The independently examined annual report and financial statements of the Parochial Church Council for the year ended 31<sup>st</sup> December 2016 had been posted beforehand. The PCC treasurer, Keith Harwood, spoke about the financial statements.

The script and presentation slides for his talk may be found on the web at

http://coggesparish.com/apcm/2017/

Mr Leach thanked Mr Harwood for all the time and effort he puts into the finances.

#### 4. Reports

The Churchwardens' report on the fabric, ornaments and goods of St Mary's Church, Cogges had been posted beforehand.

A report on the proceedings of the Deanery Synod had been posted beforehand; Miss Knowles said that in the last couple of years the Deanery Synod had been much more focussed on developing a Mission Action Plan. Mr Leach thanked Mrs Eaton and Miss Knowles for representing the church on Synod.

#### 5. Elections

# (a) Elected members of the Deanery Synod

There were elections for five synod representatives. Nominations had been received for Barbara Eaton, Elizabeth Knowles, Jane Harper, Kirsty Morgan and Ben Osman, and Mr Leach declared that they had been elected for a three year term. It was reported that David Eaton would also attend Synod meetings as Deanery treasurer.

#### (b) Elected members of the Parochial Church Council

There were eight places available on the PCC (including three casual vacancies). Nominations for election as members of the Parochial Church Council were received for Stuart Allen, Andy Bailey, Dave Calfo, Stuart Harrison, Mark Kingston, Harvey Leach, Laura Lewis and Eddie Lyle and they were declared elected to serve as PCC members for up to three years.

#### MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL PAROCHIAL CHURCH MEETING 2017

## (c) Appointment of Independent Examiner

It was agreed to appoint A J Carter & Co as independent examiner for another year.

#### 6. Questions or comments

Mrs Alison Barnes asked whether more information could be published a few weeks in advance of the vision night about what the roles of churchwarden, synod representative and PCC member are, who does them now and what sort of commitment it entails, in case someone thinks they might like to offer themselves up to help.

# 7. Commissioning of the new PCC

Mr Kirby prayed for the members of the new PCC, commissioning them for the year ahead.

#### 8. Other matters

After a time of worship, there were a number of presentations:

Heidi Gower and Kirsty Morgan: Youth and Children's work

Rich White: Connect groupsMartin Thomas: Mission

Simon Kirby: Vicar's report

The presentations and Vicar's report may be found on the web at

http://coggesparish.com/apcm/2017/

The evening concluded with "drinks and nibbles".