### ST MARY'S CHURCH, COGGES

# Annual Parochial Church Meeting Thursday 23<sup>rd</sup> February 2017 at 7:30pm in St Mary's Church

Elections to take place for 5 Deanery Synod Members to serve for three years and 6 Parochial Church Council Members to serve for up to three years\*

# **NOMINATION FORM**

Candidates for election as parochial representatives of the laity on the parochial church council ('PCC') or deanery synod must be nominated and seconded by persons whose names are on the church electoral roll of the parish. Candidates may be nominated and seconded either before the meeting in writing or at the meeting. Notes on qualifications for election follow overleaf.

We the undersigned, being persons whose names are on the electoral roll of St Mary's Church, Cogges, hereby nominate

Full name			
Address			
as a candidate for election to the <b>Deanery Synod / PCC</b> (delete as appropriate)			
Signed <i>Proposer</i>		Signed Seconder	
Print Name		Print Name	

(Nominee, Proposer and Seconder must be on the Electoral Roll)

#### FORM OF DECLARATION AND CONSENT

I declare that I am qualified to stand for election (see notes overleaf) and, if elected, I consent to serve.

Please hand completed form to Malcolm Harper (or leave it in the "H" pigeon-hole in church)

### NOTES FROM THE CHURCH REPRESENTATION RULES

# Qualifications of persons to be elected by annual meetings

- 1. Candidates must be persons whose names are on the electoral roll
- 2. Candidates for the PCC must be at least sixteen years of age
- Candidates for the Deanery Synod must be at least eighteen years of age
- 4. The names of candidates over the age of eighteen must have been on the electoral roll for at least six months before the election
- 5. Candidates must be "actual communicants" who have received Communion according to the use of the Church of England or of a Church in communion with the Church of England at least three times during the twelve months preceding the date of the election
- 6. Candidates must have signified consent to serve (or there must, in the opinion of the annual meeting, be sufficient evidence of willingness to serve).
- 7. A candidate may not serve on the PCC if disqualified from being a charity trustee under the Charities Act 2011 or if disqualified by the bishop under section 10(6) of the Incumbents (Vacation of Benefices) Measures 1977 and 1993.

### Make up of Cogges PCC

Ex Officio

Clergy — Simon Kirby, Rich White, Nick Pike

Churchwardens — 2 to be elected for one year term

Synod Reps — 5 to be elected for three year term

Licensed Lay Ministers — Mari Graves, Ian Smith, Richard Young

Elected members – 5 elected each year for three year term

Ruth Carr, Jane Harper, Mel James and Gerry Wait are due to retire in 2018. Malcolm Harper, Keith Harwood, Craig Hobbs, David Smith and Martin Thomas are due to retire in 2019.

<sup>\* 5</sup> of those elected will be for 3 years and 1 for 1 year.