Deanery Synod Annual Report 2019-20

This is a summary report; more detail on areas covered can be found in individual reports to PCC, and Deanery Minutes

Witney Deanery Synod met in June 2019 (St Mary's, Cogges), October (Turner Hall, North Leigh), and February 2020 (Old School Village Hall, Shilton). Cogges has had five deanery representatives: Barbara Eaton, Jane Harper, Elizabeth Knowles, Kirsty Morgan, and Sid Rees. (Barbara's and Elizabeth's terms on Diocesan Synod finish this year). David Eaton of St Mary's Cogges continues as Deanery Treasurer. Rev Tess Kuin Lawton has taken over from Rev Toby Wright as Area Dean, and Kirsty Morgan is now our Lay Chair.

Finances continue to be carefully monitored, and in February 2020 David Eaton was able to report that Witney Deanery had met its parish share in full. Part of the rebate received had been used to cover the shortfall.

Looking back at the reports of individual Synod meetings, it is striking to see the rich range of topics covered. In June, Revd Tina Molyneux introduced us to the Personal Discipleship Plans (https://www.oxford.anglican.org/personal-discipleship-plan/) which have become a valued resource. In October, Revd Will Donaldson, the diocesan Director of New Communities, addressed synod on the aspiration to develop new congregations, in the context of the planned rise of population in Oxford Diocese. Revd Janice Collier (Bampton) followed this with an update on Common Vision (https://www.oxford.anglican.org/mission-ministry/our-common-vision/). Revd Simon Kirby (Cogges, and Assistant Area Dean) spoke on mission and church growth. In February 2020, we heard a presentation on the climate emergency by Dr Martin Hodson and Revd Margot Hodson (Shill Valley and Broadshires benefice) which considered the current environmental situation in the light of the Christian faith. Following this, synod voted to join Bracknell and Reading deaneries in sending a motion on the climate emergency to Diocesan Synod. Overall there is a real sense of engagement with key issues, and developing activities across the deanery.

The February 2020 meeting was the last session for 2019-20. The first meeting of 2020-21 will be held at 7 pm on Wednesday 3 June at St Mary's Bampton.

Barbara Eaton, Jane Harper, Elizabeth Knowles, Kirsty Morgan, and Sid Rees (St Mary's Cogges representatives to Deanery Synod)