# ST MARY'S CHURCH, COGGES

Annual Parochial Church Meeting Thursday 15<sup>th</sup> October 2020 at 7:30pm *via* Zoom

# NOMINATION FOR ELECTION TO THE DEANERY SYNOD

Candidates for election as parochial representatives of the laity on the deanery synod must be nominated and seconded by persons whose names are on the church electoral roll of the parish. Candidates may be nominated and seconded either before the meeting in writing or at the meeting. Notes on qualifications for election follow overleaf.

Elections to take place for 5 Synod members to serve for three years We the undersigned, being persons whose names are on the electoral roll of St Mary's Church, Cogges, hereby nominate

Full name .....

Address	
as a candidate for election to the <b>Deanery Synod</b> at the annual meeting	
Signed Proposer	Signed Seconder
Print Name	Print Name
(Nominee, Proposer and Seconder must be on the Electoral Roll)	
FORM OF DECLARATION AND CONSENT	
I declare that I am qualified to stand for election (see notes overleaf) and, if elected, I consent to serve.	

Please return completed form to Cogges Parish Office (preferably by email to office@coggesparish.com)

## NOTES FROM THE CHURCH REPRESENTATION RULES

## Qualifications of persons to be elected by annual meetings

- 1. Candidates must be persons whose names are on the electoral roll
- 2. Candidates for the PCC must be at least sixteen years of age
- 3. The names of candidates over the age of eighteen must have been on the electoral roll for at least six months before the election
- 4. Candidates must be "actual communicants" who have received Communion according to the use of the Church of England or of a Church in communion with the Church of England at least three times during the twelve months preceding the date of the election
- 5. Candidates must have signified consent to serve (or there must, in the opinion of the annual meeting, be sufficient evidence of willingness to serve).
- 6. A candidate may not serve on the PCC if disqualified from being a charity trustee under the Charities Act 2011 or if included in a barred list (within the meaning of the Safeguarding Vulnerable Groups Act 2006) or if convicted of an offence mentioned in Schedule 1 to the Children and Young Persons Act 1933 or if disqualified by the bishop under section 10(6) of the Incumbents (Vacation of Benefices) Measure 1977.

#### Note

All newly elected PCC members will be required to sign a declaration confirming their eligibility to hold office as a charity trustee (*ie* non-disqualification under charity law) and will be asked to sign a Fit and Proper Person declaration. A copy of these declarations can be found at <a href="www.parishresources.org.uk/pccs/apcms/">www.parishresources.org.uk/pccs/apcms/</a> By confirming that you are eligible for election, you are confirming that you are able to sign these declarations.

## Current make up of Cogges PCC

### Ex Officio

Clergy — Simon Kirby, David Spence, Andy McCulloch

Churchwardens — 2 to be elected for one year term

Deanery Synod Representatives — 5 to be elected for three year term

Elected members – 5 to be elected (4 for 3 years, 1 for 1 year)

Andy Bailey, Alison Laithwaite and Eddie Lyle are due to retire in 2021. Malcolm Harper, Keith Harwood, Jo Leach and Andrew Newham are due to retire in 2022.

## **Record Keeping**

After the APCM this form should be kept by the parish for one year, and destroyed before the next APCM. It does not need to be sent to anyone else.